Hot Wheels vs. Matchbox

Since Isaac has been becoming obsessed with cars, I have found myself spending quite a bit of time in the car aisle of many a toy department.  When looking to purchase small, inexpensive cars, you have many choices, however, two tend to rise to the top.  You have your Hot Wheels and you have your Matchbox.  When I was a kid, I had quite a few of both.  I found that Matchbox made many of the foreign exotic cars I liked, but Hot Wheels…well…nothing rolled like a Hot Wheel.  They could go on for ever.  Remember Ultra-Hots?  I do.  Awesome.  Today, things are a little different.  Hot Wheels are now made almost exclusively with plastic bottoms, not the metal ones from my youth.  This means they are lighter and lack momentum.  Why does this matter?  They no longer roll like the diecast champions I remember them to be.  Matchbox? They now have plastic bottoms as well and therefore roll about equally as well as the Hot Wheels.  Quality-wise they are now about equal.  So, when you are at the store and you are going to buy your kid a car, what do you buy?  You buy a Hot Wheel.  Why?  Because Matchbox doesn’t make too many of those cool exotic cars you always wanted anymore.  Now, it seams that Hot Wheels makes the cars you want to own while Matchbox only makes the cars you can afford to own…if you live in Europe.  How many kids have a picture of a Citreon on their walls?  Uh, no thanks.  I’ll take the Hot Wheel of the Aston Marten DBS instead, thank you.

2 thoughts on “Hot Wheels vs. Matchbox

  1. Kids Nook

    It is true what you say… and my kid like HW just because of that but I Like matchbox a bit more just because they use various hubcaps on their cars. Hot Wheels die cast cars all have the same damn hubcaps. And that’s annoying! 😀

    Check out my article on the subject: Matchbox vs Hot Wheels

    Reply
  2. Jaimie

    You post very interesting posts here. Your page deserves much more
    traffic. It can go viral if you give it initial boost, i know useful service that can help you, simply search in google: svetsern traffic tips

    Reply

What's your opinion?

